India's Feat in Asian Wrestling and Athletics Championship

Tejinder Pal Singh Toor, Bajrang Punia, Gomathi Marimuthu and PU Chitra clinched gold medals with their best performances.

India's Feat in Asian Wrestling and Athletics Championship

What a fantastic week for India in Athletics! Our athletes made their mark on the global level. There is a scope for the improvement but we must appreciate the efforts of our athletes.

The main Highlights of Indian Athletics:

  • Neeraj Chopra is nominated for Khel Ratna. Tejinder Pal Singh Toor, Arpinder Singh, Swapna Barman, Dutee Chand and Manjeet Singh for Arjuna Award.
  • India’s top Marathon runner Nitendra Singh Rawat clocked 2:15:59 and finish 27th in the London Marathon. He has already qualified for the IAAF World Championship 2019 Doha.

23rdAsian Athletics Championship 2019

The 23rd edition of the Asian Athletics Championship concluded in Doha, Qatar on April 24, 2019. India won 17 medals (3 Gold, 7 Silver and 7 bronze). India placed on the 4th place in the tournament.

The Athletes who made India proud

  • Women’s 400m Relay team bagged Silver medal with the timing of 3: 32.21s. Indian relay team- Prachi, Poovamma, Saritaben Gayakwad and VK Vismaya.
  • Ajay Kumar bagged the Silver medal in the men’s 1500M with a Season Best Timing of 3:43.18
  • Dutte Chand bagged Bronze medal with her Season Best timing of 23.24s
  • Pu Chitra bagged gold medal in the women’s 1500m with Timing of 4:14.56
  • Sanjivani Jadhav won Bronze medal in the Women’s 10.000m timing of 32:44.96
  • Mohammad Anas, Mr Poovamma, Vk Vismaya and Arokia Rajiv bagged silver medal in the 4X400m (3:16.47) in mixed Relay
  • Swapna Barman bagged silver medal in the Women’s Heptathlon with 5993 points
  • Tajinder Toor Singh Pal won gold medal in the Men’s Shotput with a Season Best throw of 20.22m
  • Gomathi Marimuthu won first gold medal for India in the 800 m with her personal best of 2.02.70
  • Saritaben Gayakwad bagged bronze medal in Women’s 400m hurdles with the timing of 57.22s
  • Jabir Mp bagged bronze in the men’s 400m hurdles with a PB of 49.13s

  • Annu Rani bagged silver medal in the women’s Javelin Throw with a performance of 60.2m
  • Murli Kumar Gavit claimed bronze in the men’s 10000m with a personal best time of 28:38
  • Poovamma MR won bronze medal in the women’s 400m

With timing of 53.21

  • Avinash Sable won a silver medal in the men’s 3000m
  • Annu Rani bagged silver medal in the women’s Javelin throw with the performance of 60.22m
  • Parul Chaudhary won the first medal with the timing of 15.14.32
  • JinsonJohson clocked 1:53.43 second in the men’s 800m

Asian Wrestling Championship 2019

Last week was full of achievements for India as we ended up with 16 medals in Asian Wrestling 2019 held at Xian, China.

Out of 16 gold medals- one gold, three silver and four bronze won by men’s free style wrestlers, four bronze, three silver medals and one bronze by Greco-Roman wrestlers.

Bajrang Punia won gold medal after defeating Kazakhstan’s SayatbekOkassov in 65 kg in men’s free style. Harpreet Singh (82 Kg), Gurpreet Singh (77 Kg) and Sunil

Kumar (87 Kg) finished with silver medal while Gyanender won bronze medal in 60 kg.

Sakshi Malik (62kg), Vinesh Phogat (53 kg), Manju Kumari (59 Kg) and Divya Kakran (68 kg) bagged bronze medal.

Here is the complete list of the winners in Asian Wrestling Championship 2019-

S. No Name Category Event Medal
1. Bajrang Punia 65 Kg Men’s Free Style Gold
2. Amit Kumar Dhankar 74 Kg Men’s Free Style Silver
3. Praveen Rana 79 Kg Men’s Free Style Silver
4. Vicky Chahar 92 Kg Men’s Free Style Silver
5. Gurpreet Singh 77 Kg Men’s Greco-Roman Silver
6. Harpreet Singh 82 Kg Men’s Greco-Roman Silver
7. Sunil Kumar 87 Kg Men’s Greco-Roman Silver
8. Rahul Aware 61 Kg Men’s Freestyle Bronze
9. Deepak Punia 86 Kg Men’s Freestyle Bronze
10. Satyawart Kadian 97 Kg Men’s Freestyle Bronze
11. Sumit Malik 125 Kg Men’s Freestyle Bronze
12. Gyanender Dahiya 60 kg Men’s Greco-Roman Bronze
13. Vinesh Phogat 53 Kg Women’s Freestyle Bronze
14. Manju Kumari 59 kg Women’s Freestyle Bronze
15. Sakshi Malik 62 kg Women’s Freestyle Bronze
16. DivyaKakran 68 kg Women’s Freestyle Bronze

About The Author


The team is based out of Delhi and is connected to all the leading athletes, trainers and nutritionists. The purpose is to bridge the gap between common people and all fitness e.. Read More..


Recent Comments

Leave Comments