Hockey Men's World Cup lifted by Belgium for First Time!

International Hockey federation (FIH) and the host National Hockey India (HI) organized this biggest tournament in Men’s Hockey.

Hockey Men's World Cup lifted by Belgium for First Time!

India hosted the Hockey Men’s World Cup at Bhubaneswar, Odisha 2018. It is the 14th edition of the prestigious field hockey tournament and was scheduled from 28th November to 16th December 2018. All the matches were played at the iconic Kalinga Hockey stadium in the city of Bhubaneswar, Odisha. The partners and sponsors of the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup were Odisha (India’s Best Keep Secret), Odisha Tourism, Hero Motocorp, BYJU’s, Dream 11, Star Sports, Odisha Mining Corporation Limited, Tata Steel Limited, Polytan, Adidas, Sahara and Coca-Cola India.

Actor Shahrukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit and singer, A.R Rehman all were set to rock the opening ceremony of the tournament.Naveen Patnaik, CM of Odisha welcomed the world’s best team in India and expressed his journey as a hockey player. Naveen Patnaik also gave away cash awards worth Rs. 76.75 lakhs to 59 sportspersons from the state for their outsanding contributions in their respective sports.

Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi and Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore sent their best wishes to all the teams of Men’s Hockey World Cup tournament.

International Hockey federation (FIH) and the host national hockeyIndia (HI) organised this biggest tournament in Men’s Hockey. A total of 16 countries participated in the tournament host country India, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Germany, Netherland, Spain, Pakistan, New Zealand, France, China, South Africa, Malaysia, Canada and Ireland. Hockey Men’s World Cup witnessed of 36 matches in the event of 19 days.The 16 participating teams were divided into 4 pools – Pool A, Pool B, Pool C and Pool D. The teams finished top of the pool were directly qualified for the quarterfinals while those finished second and third pool played the crossover matches for a place in the last eight stage. Teams those ended last in their respective pool were eliminated.

The opening match was played between Belgium and Canada. On the same day the host country India also played their first match against South Africa. The first semi-final match was played between the Belgium and England while Australia faced the tough test with the Netherlands on Saturday, 15 December 2018.

The losing teams of the semi- finals matches faced off for the Bronze medal on Sunday, 16 December 2018. The final match of the tournament took place at 19.00hrs IST. Belgium won the tournament for the first time after defeating the Netherlands by 3-2 while defending champions Australia won the third place by defeating England. India winded up at the 6th position.

The closing ceremony was not organised, there were only Presentation and Prize Distribution ceremonies after the final matches on Sunday, 16 December 2018.

It turned out to be one of the grandest events of the state for which the state government and the organisers worked very hard to ensure that whole of the world has the best experience of the tournament.

About The Author


The team is based out of Delhi and is connected to all the leading athletes, trainers and nutritionists. The purpose is to bridge the gap between common people and all fitness e.. Read More..


Recent Comments

Leave Comments