53 kg Unbelievable Transformation of Mawra Ishaque!

You will be shocked after reading her story that how depression made her to take miserable step!

I am Mawra Ishaque, 29 years old from Pune but I was brought up in Calcutta. I am, currently, working as the head of copy and strategy department with a branding agency and I’m also studying to be a fitness coach. 

Lifestyle plays a major role in our overall health and fitness. My previous lifestyle was immensely different and so unorganized as I ordered a lot of junk food, working for few hours and watching series while eating till 4 am in the morning. I wasn’t active at all and hadn’t seen the gym for years! But my current lifestyle is very active and I take note of every single thing I eat, 5 days of intense weight training and two days of solid cardio. I also try to run at least 10 kilometers twice a month. Nutrition is the most important element of training so I take care of it. I prepare all my meals in advance so that I don’t have to skip my meals. I rarely eat ‘junk’ but when I do eat, it’s strictly on cheat meal days.

I have always been obese but after numerous attempts at losing weight, I gained a lot of weight over the period of 20 years. My weight was not my main problem; I had a lot of mental and emotional issues. I had bulimia and comfort eating disorders. I battled with depression since I was 13 years old and even attempted suicide twice- the second was on my 25th birthday. That day I didn’t just decide to transform my body; but my entire life. I was not happy with my health so, I decided to transform. I went from being 115 kgs to 53 kgs. 

Convincing the mind and to get back to a normal weight range were the most difficult part for me. I knew I had to lose over 50 kgs and that thought was immensely daunting me when I stood on the scale and it flashed 114.9 kgs. At that point, I didn’t know a single person who had lost that much weight. It was a classic example of no light at the end of the tunnel. I started focusing on baby steps-kept smaller goals and focused on non-scale victories like fitting in an old dress, taking progress pictures and choosing a workout that I enjoyed.

The second most difficult part was to change the entire perception of fitness. Gym and diet for me had always been about weight loss. I was sent to the gym when I was 9 years old because I was overweight and since then I could only think of gym and diet in a strict and restrictive sense- it was all about eating the least and doing shit tons of cardio. I matured with my transformation journey and realized that it’s not about eating less; but eating right and it’s not about killing yourself with two hours of cardio but strengthening and conditioning your physical and mental being.

I do 5 days weight training, 2 days back and biceps and two days of chest, shoulder and triceps. I do cardio and abs one day and run 10 kms on Sundays. However I do change the split often, depending on my immediate goals.

I follow a high protein diet on most days and with some high carb refueling days. I’m trying to cut at the moment deficit per day. I maintain a 200-250 calorie deficit per day. I eat a lot of eggs, chicken, paneer, vegetables and recipes with whey protein such as protein pancakes, protein smoothies, etc.

About The Author

Team bodyandstrength.com

The team is based out of Delhi and is connected to all the leading athletes, trainers and nutritionists. The purpose is to bridge the gap between common people and all fitness e.... Read More..

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Recent Comments

Leave Comments

Top